close close
previous project
previous project

Hermès Foundation Missulsang 2012 at the Atelier Hermès

Korea’s annual contemporary art prize. Donghee Koo awardee

Atelier Hermès presents the three contenders for the 13th Hermès Foundation Missulsang. Organized by the Fondation d’Entreprise Hermès since 2008, the prize salutes a Korean artist selected each year by the distinguished international jury.

Fondation d'Entreprise Hermès - Hermès Foundation Missulsang 2012 at the Atelier Hermès
© Kiyong NAM

The Hermès Foundation Missulsang 2012 finalists are Donghee Koo, Mi-Kyung Lee and Jackson Hong, selected by a jury of five Korean and international personalities from the world of contemporary art. Prior to the announcement of this year’s winner in September 2012, Atelier Hermès offers an insight into the work of all three artists.

Born in 1974, Donghee Koo is a virtuoso artist active across all contemporary media, drawing on seemingly commonplace, personal references and preoccupations in works that pursue a resolutely non-narrative, a-critical, a-political approach, devoid of social critique.

Works by Mi-Kyung Lee are conceived in situ, in response to the spatial context and specific characteristics of each venue. The artist’s interventions aim not to exercise control, but rather to enhance the functioning and impact of their settings. Born in 1967, Mi-Yung Lee lives and works today in Münster (Germany).

At the crossroads of art and design, Jackson Hong’s work seeks to blend these distinct practices, transcending their respective spheres to forge a new, purely creative space. His works take a critical perspective, but they do not seek to engage with contemporary discourse in the field of design as such. Born in 1972, Jackson Hong produces artworks conceived as complete autonomous entities, free of artistic or other influences.

next project
next project



2012 Jury:

Kim Beom, artist
Yong Soon Min, artist and professor at the Studio Art Department, UC Irvine
Manu Park, director of the Nam June Paik Art Center
Roger Buergel, artistic director of Documenta XII 2007, and the Busan biennale 2012
Cristina Ricuperro, independent curator