close close
previous project
previous project
Paris, France

Danse élargie

A springboard for young talent

Devised by the Théâtre de la Ville (Paris) and the Musée de la Danse (Rennes), Danse élargie is an international, biennial competition showcasing new talent from a broad range of artistic disciplines. As co-organiser since the event’s inception, the Fondation d’entreprise Hermès supports the staging of selected productions across Paris. 

Fondation d'Entreprise Hermès - Danse élargie
© DR

Founded in 2010, Danse élargie is a biennial, weekend-long competition presenting experimental, short-form productions by artists from diverse horizons and disciplines, on stage at the Théâtre de la Ville, Paris. The rules are simple: a minimum cast of three, maximum duration ten minutes. The productions are all performed in public, before a jury of international theatre and art professionals. In the year following each competition, the winning artists stage full-length productions based on their initial ‘pilots’.

The Foundation contributes the competition’s cash prizes, while the organisational team and jury partner the winners through the subsequent development and staging of their work. Each event culminates in a series of public, professional performances as part of a dedicated, annual season at Paris’s Théâtre de Abbesses.

Conceived as a springboard for young talent and innovative theatrical forms, Danse élargie has launched the careers of several unique performers, now firmly established on the professional stage. Past winners include Noé Soulier, Simon Tanguy, Paola Rosolen and Mithkal Alzghair, whose respective careers confirm the competition’s role as an important incubator of tomorrow’s leading talents.

* 2017 - Additional targeted support: The Foundation provided a travel bursary for Syrian choreographer Mithkal Alzhgair, winner of Danse élargie #4, to attend the Dublin Dance Festival 2017 for a performance of his work at the Abbey Theatre, and a workshop wth Irish dancers. 

> Call for projects for Danse élargie (5th edition)
 Registration until December 15th, 2017

next project
next project


Jury 2016:
- Eun-Me Ahn (South Korea), art director at Eunme Ahn Compagnu, choreographer
- Lee Bul (South Korea), visuel artist
- Lucinda Childs (United States), choreographer
- Tiago Guedes (Portugal), choreographer, director at Théâtre municipal de Porto-Rivoli et Campo Alegre
- Young-Kyu JANG (South Korea), musician
- Vincent Macaigne (France), actor and director
- Dorothée Munyaneza (France / Rwanda), musician, choreographer and actress

List of winners from the Seoul jury 2016:
- 1st Prize: Jeong Seyoung, Deus Ex Machina (South Korea)
- 2nd Prize: Samuel & Mathieu Joseph et Jeff Armand, Libre sans toi-t (Maurice)
- 3rd Prize: Gaétan Bulourde, Spoiled Spring (France)
- Audience award: Chien-Hao Chang, The Next Three (Taiwan)

List of winners from the Paris jury:
- 1st Prize: Mithkal Alzghair, Déplacement (Syria / Turkey)
- 2nd Prize: COLLECTIF (LA) HORDE / Marine Brutti / Jonathan Debrouwer / Arthur Harel, TO DA BONE (France / Quebec / Hungary / Netherlands / Poland / Ukraine)
- 3rd Prize: Lyon-Eun Kwon, Glory (South Korea)
- Audience award: Eirini Papanikola, Anthemoessa (Greece)
- Audience award, special mention: Lyon-Eun Kwon, Glory (South Korea)
- Technical prize: Eirini Papanikolaou, Anthemoessa (Greece)