close close
previous project
previous project
France, Paris

Prix Marcel Duchamp

Honouring France’s contemporary art scene

Since 2008, the Fondation d’entreprise Hermès has supported the Prix Marcel Duchamp for contemporary art, presented annually to a French artist, or an artist living and working in France. The internationally acclaimed prize aims to promote the French art scene worldwide.

Fondation d'Entreprise Hermès - Prix Marcel Duchamp
© Galerie Jousse Entreprise

Created in 2000 by the ADIAF (Association pour la Diffusion Internationale de l’Art Français), the Prix Marcel Duchamp has become a fixture on the international contemporary art calendar. Named for one of the leading forefathers of today’s contemporary art scene, the French award has joined the ranks of the best-known and most influential national prizes in the world today.

‘Our prize is designed to spotlight the rich creativity of French contemporary artists,’ says Gilles Fuchs, president of the ADIAF. Each year, a committee of collectors nominates four artists, who are either French or living and working in France. Since 2016, all four nominees have taken part in an autumn exhibition at the Centre Pompidou, Paris, with their work featured in the accompanying catalogue. Support for the award from this leading, internationally acclaimed institution ensures exceptional visibility with the widest possible public.

Chosen by an international jury of collectors and directors of major art institutions, the annual winner receives the sum of 35,000 euros. The Fondation d’entreprise Hermès is a long-standing supporter of the award, which has contributed greatly to the influence and renown of French contemporary artists on the international scene.

Winners of the Prix Marcel Duchamp

2016            Kader Attia

2015             Melik Ohanian

2014             Julien Prévieux

2013            Latifa Echakhch

2012            Daniel Dewar and Grégory Gicquel

2011            Mircea Cantor

2010            Cyprien Gaillard

2009            Sâadane Afif

2008            Laurent Grasso           

2007            Tatiana Trouvé

2006            Philippe Mayaux

2005            Claude Closky           

2004            Carole Benzaken

2003            Mathieu Mercier

2002            Dominique Gonzalez-Foerster

2000             Thomas Hirschhorn

next project
next project


Annual support since 2008